On to real life. When I hear the tapes on the news I think there is no reason for a man to talk to a women like that. And ladies, there is no reason for us to talk to men like that either. I understand that people get angry and say things that they don't always mean but if this is a pattern then like the lady said on the tape, "Mel you need help/medication."
There is such a stigma on medication and psychological illness that I just don't understand. I know people who would rather pretend that there is no problem or be miserable instead of just getting some help. While I am sensitive to this I just don't understand why this stigma exists. I have seen visits with doctors and medication turn people's whole entire lives around.
For those of you who know me know that I am not a fan of pain killers etc, so you may be wondering where all this is coming from. Fact is, I am not a fan of pain killers BUT if the pain is making an impact on my day to day life and the way I live it, I will pop a Tylenol in hot minute. Balance is important, I won't take a pill just for the sake of taking it, but if it will make an unnecessary issue better then it is well worth it. I think if the perception wasn't so negative more people would consider seeing a physician and asking for help.
It is interesting that in some communities being on an anti-depressant is the norm and in others it is not spoken of. One solution isn't the answer. It is definitely all about the individual and what is right for them and their quality of life.
In the meantime, womp womp Mel Gibson.
No comments:
Post a Comment